Swicegood Funeral Home, Incorporated has been privileged to serve a wide area of North Carolina and Virginia since 1928. Founder Dewey W. Swicegood has had the gratifying experience of seeing the institution grow into one of the largest and best known establishments of its kind in the South. In 1928, he took “service for his slogan. To this day, that one word continues to be the most important key to the firm's activities.
In 1923, a Swicegood Funeral Home was opened in Yanceyville, NC. During this venture, Dewey became aware of the needs of the nearby village of Schoolfield. In 1928 he leased quarters in what was then known as the Jones Building, and opened Swicegood Funeral Home of Danville. Soon after opening the Schoolfield Funeral Home, it became clear that there was a need to move within the city limits of Danville. The old C.M. Weber home at 564 West Main Street opposite Howeland Circle was acquired. Since that time, Swicegood Funeral Home has remained at this location.
Throughout the years, the firm has experienced extensive remodeling and growth. The new facilities gave Danville its first funeral home chapel for funeral services. Families began using funeral home parlors rather than their own houses as the place when their loved ones lay in repose. However, a devastating fire in 1937 destroyed the structure and almost swept away all of the assets of the Swicegood Family. Luckily, Danville banks came to the rescue and allowed for Swicegood to build an even larger and better building to serve the community.
In recent years, Swicegood Funeral Home has met the growing need for families to have private visitations of their loved ones and also to receive friends in a chapel or parlor. A new chapel was erected on adjoining property, and additional parlors were created to accommodate the larger number of families whom they served. To this day, Swicegood Funeral Home continues to grow and expand as Danville's needs evolve.